Announcements
Blacktopping for Fall 2023 has started. List of streets available at City Hall.

Welcome to the

City of Nicholasville!

Where we share the good life.

Planning and Zoning

Planning and Zoning

The Planning Commission for the City of Nicholasville reviews plans from residents and makes recommendations to the City Commission. The decision regarding whether the plans move forward is then made. For more information on submitting a plan or planning and zoning laws, reach out to us today. 

Planning and Zoning Committee Structure

The Planning Commission is comprised of nine members and the Board of Adjustment has seven, all of which are appointed by the mayor and approved by the City Commission. Planning Commission meetings are scheduled for the 4th Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. Board of Adjustment meetings are scheduled for the 2nd Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. Both meetings are held at the Nicholasville Police Department in the Community Room and are open to the public.

Responsibilities of the commission include enforcing zoning and building codes, oversight of new subdivisions and infrastructure development, flood plain enforcement, community rating systems, and other related areas.

Videos of Planning Commission and BOA Meetings can be viewed here

Nicholasville Planning Commission

Nicholasville Board of Adjustment

Planning and Zoning Staff

Tim Cross, Planning and Zoning Director tim.cross@nicholasville.org

Paul Bradford, GIS Floodplain Administrator, CFM
paul.bradford@nicholasville.org

Brian Claar P.E., City Engineer
brian.claar@nicholasville.org

Heater Teater, Administrative Assistant heather.Teater@nicholasville.org

Steve Williams, Zoning Enforcement Official steve.williams@nicholasville.org

Michael Eakins, Building Inspector Supervisor
michael.eakins@nicholasville.org

Melissa Houp, Administrative Specialist
melissa.houp@nicholasville.org

Jennifer Crabtree, Administrative Specialist
jennifer.crabtree@nicholasville.org

Tom Byrd, Building Inspector tom.byrd@nicholasville.org

Contact Details
Planning Commission
517 N. Main Street
Nicholasville, KY 40356
859.885.9385

Forms and Links

To view and download frequently used planning and zoning forms, click below.

Click Here

© 2023 The City of Nicholasville, KY. All Rights Reserved.